….pass it on!


I have been recently having fun on Facebook, talking about a mythical character or animal called Herman, whom we have been looking after for the last 10 days for our neighbour’s children. The amount of guessing by respondents has been fantastic, and the secret is now out.!

I have been caring-for and feeding (at no great expense) a sourdough yeast mixture which they handed-in with a sheet of instructions to ensure that the proper attention was provided. This has now been done for the appropriate time, and I am now the proud possessor of a large amount of starter which I will now pass to appropriate folk with the same instructions. I will be left with a small amount, to which I can add many ingredients and bake myself a a cake.

It is a beautiful example of how we can pass around something quite small and insignificant, generate some fun, give away most of the result, and still have something left with which to make something nice for ourselves.

For those who were not reading the FB status or want more details, click on the link below.

http://www.hermanthegermanfriendshipcake.com/

4 thoughts on “….pass it on!

  1. A really fine riddle. This is the first time I ever suspected that I had missed something, no being a member of face book. Having once baked bread regularly, I appreciate the value of a yeast culture. Congratulations on your success.

  2. Facebook falls between Twitter….which I find trivial and fleeting, and blogs, such as yours, which give others an insight into you and your life in a very interesting way. I often go back and read again some of yours, which are so full of wonderful detail about another way of life and culture. Facebook posts are gone and forgotten within a week and have to be treated as such.

    I also bake bread (admittedly in a breadmaker) but my grandmother was wonderful, baking on an open fire….giving a marvellous smell in the house! It makes my mouth water just to think of it all again 60 years later!

    (I must go and check if you have written a blog about bread-making!!

Leave a Reply

