The thin blue line


Last week I was pleased to attend a function in Glasgow City Chambers, where long-service awards (22 years+) were being given out to a number of those, who on a daily basis have to deal with some of the worst-behaved people around. I speak of course of the police force of Glasgow who (like police worldwide) face up to the criminal element in our society, and provide a very thin line of defence preventing the breakdown of the civilised society we hold so dear.

They were all shapes and sizes, with varying skills in handling difficult situations. No doubt they have all wondered, at one time or another,why they decided to enter and stay so long do this, often dangerous and sometimes thankless, work……but thank goodness they did.

I take my hat off to you, ladies and gentlemen, and thank you very much!

3 thoughts on “The thin blue line

  1. Beautifully said. If my husband had followed his spirit, he would have made an amazing detective. He has a spidey sense like you wouldn’t believe! But I am grateful he has a desk job that ensures he comes home safely each night. I don’t think I’d make a good police wife. at all.

    PS: I used to love watching those Rowan Atkinson reruns!

Leave a Reply

