Water, water, everywhere,….especially above!


I have always hated tunnels, especially those under water. I first came across this fear when I arrived in Glasgow and the Clyde Tunnel had just opened. The thought that, in the middle of the journey, and the lowest point of the tunnel, there was a massive amount of water above me made me hasten along when driving my motorbike.

I also went under the Mersey Tunnel several times, when the driver got lost coming out, and we ended back under a massive amount of water for another two transverses before we got out and onto the correct road.

I recently saw part of a programme about submariners, trapped in a metal tube for 3 months at a time! You wouldn’t even get me inside one in dry-dock!

Lady of the House has always wanted to go to Europe on the Eurostar express, and I have steadfastly refused, because of the above-mentioned phobia.

I think I’m fully-justified, given the news over the last few days!….What about you?

In fact, thinking of the possibility of  strikes on airlines, as well, I’ll maybe just stay at home!

5 thoughts on “Water, water, everywhere,….especially above!

  1. I also don’t like bridges, especially when you have a good view of them from a distance and see how small the cars look!

    As I sit here this evening, staying-in seems even better, with heavy snow and glassy roads!

  2. I have a fear of driving in the snow… I like tunnels, I like the Tyne Tunnel as it’s not too long.
    I think we might have seen the last of the worst snow in my region. (I hope, I hope, I hope) It’s been pretty snowy though… and very cold. It was minus 6 degrees today at 7.30am!
    Stay in, stay warm, avoid tunnels, bridges, airports… everything will be fine then! :o)

  3. We have not gone over the doorstep this evening! The weather was so bad today that no-one appeared at our two businesses, so it was all a waste of electricity!

    However took the chance to do some essential tidying-up, so feeling a bit better for that!

    Still not sure what to do tomorrow, but I may take your replies as justification for pulling the duvet over our heads tomorrow morning, and then get up to feed the birds.

    However, Flighty, I INSIST that you go out to your plot tomorrow and report on the conditions!

    • Sorry Harry I didn’t get to the plot today but I can assure you that it was still snow covered until after lunch since when it’s been raining so I guess that it’s now slushy and muddy. I shall take a stroll there when it’s next sunny! Cheers.

Leave a Reply

