UNCUT


grass with daisies

I usually like my lawn neatly cut, as it contrasts well with my ‘wilderness’ borders. However a couple of weeks ago I loaned my lawn-mower to Son, for his extremely-large grass area, and so my lawn went uncut! 

Good sun with the occasional light shower provided perfect growing conditions. I was intrigued by the number of daisies, buttercups and various grasses which appeared rapidly…..they were actually quite pretty. There was a total difference between the morning scene when the blooms were all shut, and it all looked a bit dull….but when the sun appeared, suddenly they all turned towards it and opened up to provide flashes of white and yellow….a glorious sight. It took us back to visits to Austria, where great swathes of countryside were left to produce wonderful areas of natural habitat.

So maybe, just occasionally, you should leave things to nature!

11 thoughts on “UNCUT

  1. Neatly cut lawns do look nice but do little, if anything, for wildlife! I prefer a wild look myself with daisies, clover and so on growing on it.

  2. LOvely! I noticed at the local cemetery, he plot mowers have left sections uncut where they are particularly large collections of wildflowers growing. A nice touch, I thought.

  3. I think you’ve got yourself a meadow 🙂 Lovely ~ I have buttercups in my lawn when it isn’t cut and they do add a dash of delight.

  4. I do so agree – The Great Gardener does an almighty job when we stop intervening. Thanks for the picture – tis great.

  5. Flighty…..but do you have a completely wild area on your allotment?….thought not!! LOL

    D.D…..don’t leave off the wine!….I enjoy the almost-English!

    Glo….I love that phrase…..dash of delight…

    Fraggle…..I was shown how to do that by my Mum when I was a child….but it is something I would not admit to now..at my age!

    Chickpea…..He does…but I wish He could keep the weeds down at the same time! I must admit however, that I have cut the lawn…I didn’t like the thought of tramping over all the lovely little blooms!

  6. I love daisy strewn lawns! We too, usually have a neatly trimmed lawn but I coaxed my husband into leaving the daisy lawn for a while… the rabbits certainly like it and it keeps them of the other blooms!
    Is that a rockery area at the back of the photo? I bet heather wuld grow nicely there, we’ve got some in our garden and it seems to grow well in the harder soil.

  7. Hi daffy….heathers are at the front,in my north-facing ‘stone’ garden….the part of my back garden you see is part of the wilderness…which I leave relatively untamed, and is full of shrubs and bulbs so easy to maintain. Also kids love hiding in it, and having little picnics where they can’t be seen…..great fun!

    • Dearest CWG…….to tell a n Irishman living in Scotland that his garden is English!!!! (LOL) Oh dear, unintentional boob!…..but the thought was spot-on, so thanks.

      We must see this verdant carpet and get husbandito to tell me how you get it so.

Leave a Reply

