So far and yet so near


Brother, who is married and lives in Australia, has just had his 60th birthday, and, as requested, has sent me a very nice family photo including his wife and children. I was almost tempted to ask him why the photo did not come upside down, but that is too corny even for me!

He went to the antipodes on UK Decimalisation Day (probably to escape the horrible word, PENCE), and thinks nothing of the long flights back for funerals. It is strange to note that even with being so close as children, who played well together, we have spent most of our lives as far apart as is presently possible, and have built-up relationships, and pursued careers unknown and un-connected to one another.

Yet when we do meet again, we seem to just settle-in again as if nothing had happened.

There is one other interesting point. When writing the obituary for our mother, I e-mailed him to see if there were any specific points or memories he wanted brought to mind, and he sent me over his version of our childhood. There were some important points on which the facts seemed to differ from my recollection and diary, but at this stage in our lives it makes no difference, but does show that we can observe happenings from different viewpoints, and carry that view all our lives.

We still hope that we might take the long journey over, and resolve who was right about the various parts of our childhood, if someone could knock me out for the 36 hours of travelling!

5 thoughts on “So far and yet so near

  1. Well, I do watch Neighbours every day(as a mental drug after a hard day’s work), and so I think that that is quite a contribution to the friendly UK/Oz relationship!

    When I can be ‘beamed-up’ as per the old Startrek, and deposited in some suitable landing-spot in Ozzie-land, then I will happily visit.

  2. That’s about the only way that I’d travel that distance. I never did like flying much and now with all the hassle at airports… Cheers!

Leave a Reply

