Scotland the Beautiful (again) !


I had to head north on Wednesday to the Highlands of Argyll, to the town of Lochgilphead (at the head of Loch Gilp, believe it or not!) and then the interesting little sheltered yacht haven of Ardfern. Local residents had advised that the wind and rain they had recently might prove a hazard on the route, but I felt my journey was necessary, so set off in the drizzle, but the weather improved as did the scenery.

Much of this area had been used for commercial foresting and great swathes of the countryside had been covered with towering firs. As I have been travelling up here for decades, I have seen them growing from young saplings to the majesty which they eventually achieve. As a by-product of this, however, the trees themselves can sometimes become the scenery, as vistas are precluded by the darkness of the forest near the road. What a wonderful surprise it is then, when coming round a corner, to see that an area has been cleared giving a clear view of the lakes and hills beyond.

Whilst the cleared area may sometimes be unsightly for a couple of years, Mother Nature takes over and the natural flora can return.

Might this be a good theme for thinking about life….or is that too philosophical for this time of the day?

3 thoughts on “Scotland the Beautiful (again) !

  1. I find that whenever we go to Scotland I always have a different mindset prepared for when I come home. Scotland has more natural beauty than anywhere I have ever been. I’m not hugely well travelled but I can’t find many places to give me a calming feeling as travelling those Scottish roads does.
    A few years ago we holidayed in a log cabin a Dalavich on Loch Awe and I fell in love with it all. The twisty road we had to travel to get to the main road was eye-opening, the Stag, the hawks… the scenery. It was lovely.
    So I can somewhat relate totally to your post but not the specific area you mention.
    Ahhh you have taken me to a beautiful place in my mind this afternoon! Many thanks. :o)

  2. I agree with what Daffy says! It’s been a while since I’ve been to Scotland but I’ve always enjoyed my visits there and it’s among the few places that I’d have no hesitation in going back to time and again.
    I remember stopping for lunch at Ardfern once on a beautiful sunny day in late September!
    Have a good weekend!

  3. Dear Daffy and Flighty….. you both obviously have lovely places where you go for a break or just for the day. Let us know, and I can always Google the area for images.

    Lochgilphead is about 2 and a half hours North West from Glasgow, and once you have explored it, you can then head south to Campbeltown in an hour (lovely scenery, but the town is a bit of a disappointment). Otherwise you can head north to Oban, again a beautiful road and the town is well-worth seeing. Use Google images for more info.

    Loch Awe can be a wild loch. I once stayed at Portsonachan and tried to fish Loch Awe all weekend but too stormy

    I should really have posted a few photos but still find it all a bit of a mystery.

    Today the weather has improved with pleasant skies, and patients coming in with dry clothes for a change!

    Hope all goes well with you and yours this weekend.

Leave a Reply

