Concerts


Good Lady and I like going together to classical music concerts, and have done so for many years. We are very lucky that we have the great Royal Scottish National Orchestra available, and  a marvellous Royal Concert Hall to attend. Prices have risen astronomically over the last 20 years, but this is now balanced with the free bus pass, which takes us literally door-to-door. So you see there are advantages in being old, and living in Scotland!

One of the last ones we attended featured the Chopin 2nd Piano Concerto played by the ebulient Argentinian Ingrid Fliter.    www.ingridfliter.com    I love Chopin’s piano music, but not particularly with an orchestra attached to the piano. However it was a wonderful fiery performance by the young lady, and we applauded as enthusiastically as anyone.

But it set me to thinking…..why in this day and age do we spend a lot of money to go out on a miserable evening to attend a venue where we have been many times before, to hear an orchestra we have heard many times, playing pieces we have heard many times, when we could be at home with our hi-fi with a massive choice of CD music at our disposal?

It’s probably a question which has absorbed the brains of many observers of the human mind over many decades. I’m no psychologist so it is unlikely that I have an answer. Is it to relive some previous happy experience of this piece/soloist/orchestra/venue? Is it an attempt to again find some personal solace/excitement in a piece we know well? Is it a ‘communal’ thing where we just love being ‘drawn-into’ an event with other like-minded people? Is it an attempt to keep looking for something new in the interpretation? Is it a continuing admiration in the un-doubted skills and artistry of the orchestral members/soloist/conductor?

Maybe it’s a combination of all of them……I honestly don’t know…..but I have no intention of camping out or tramping through mud to experience anything held at T in the Park!!!…………….what about you?

P.S. ….we have already signed up for the 2012-2013 Concerts!

One thought on “Concerts

  1. Like you, I would not tramp around in the mire and camp at T in the park. I don’t know if I was in my flush of youth now, would I think any differently. It’s hypothetical, so there is no point in dwelling on the proposition, as I know I definitely would not do it in this day and at my age now.

    There’s a lot of occasion dressed up in going to a concert in a good venue with interesting artists performing. There are some artists I would make huge efforts to see perform in person, irrespective of how well I knew a piece. But then, so would loads of other people; would I therefore, be lucky enough to get in! Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

